A Glorious Summer Holiday – Destination: The Algarve

It’s been a REALLY long time since I’ve written a blog post and I don’t really know why. I guess uni work took over and in the new year I started going to the gym, so that kinda became my new favourite hobby. So, as a result, I neglected my blog.

BUT, I’m back with some serious passion for blogging so stick around!

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 21.10.17

I thought my first blog post should be something fun, exciting and reflective so this one is going to be all about my first summer holiday of the year with my wonderful family. As a child, I never actually went on a family holiday, and in fairness to my parents…there are LOADS of us so I don’t blame them. Anyway, this year me, my older sister, her husband and son, my little brother and my boyfriend booked it, packed up and jetted off to the Algarve for 2 weeks of sun, sea, laughter and rum. We had the best 2 weeks ever!

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 21.09.32

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 21.08.43

We stayed in a small resort called Praia De Rocha, which had the most amazing beaches. We spent the first week lounging by the pool, swimming, playing cards and eating our body weight in food. Half way through the holiday my boyfriend and I decided to have a holiday in a holiday and caught the bus up to Lisbon for 2 nights, it was such a good idea! I could write a whole other blog post on our time in Lisbon…actually I think I might, all I’ll tell you for now is that Lisbon is one of my new favourite cities and the Time Out Market is 100% the best place to eat there. After 3 days sight-seeing in Lisbon, we were ready for some much-needed pool time so we headed back down to our all-inclusive hotel in the Algarve and reunited with the rest of the family.

IMG_4626

We explored some of the Algarve, catching a river boat to SlivesΒ and spending a gorgeous afternoon drinking Prosecco and eating strawberries on the cobbled steps under an orange tree. We also went to Slide&Splash water park and had such a fun day, I even held a snake! (In a water park? I know).

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 21.09.14

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 21.09.45

After putting on at least 4 stone and damaging our livers for a fair while, we flew home with our cheeks aching from laughing and smiling having had a holiday to remember. Going on holiday is my absolute favourite thing in the world. I love not thinking about anything but the people you’re with, what you’ll have for dinner and whether to read Cosmopolitan or Glamour magazine first!

Are any of you jetting off somewhere nice this summer?

Eliza Days xo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

